Skip to content

[PhD] Unexpected good news, and expected good news

March 8, 2013

As it happens, I don’t need any special medical attention at all to visit my study site on the Ashmore Reef. Despite the fact that it is well within the tropics, the fact that it has no standing fresh water means that no mosquitoes breed there – hence no malaria or yellow fever. Needless to say, this doesn’t fit with the preconceptions I had about doing tropical research! I’m almost tempted to try to tag along with one of the Avian Malaria Research Group’s sampling trips, just so I have an excuse to be punched in the arm by the best tropical medicine that the University will pay for.

The expected good news is that I’ve been offered some work. From next week, I will lab-demonstrate for a second-year ecology paper. It is difficult to find work that fits in around my sampling timetable (which will take me out of the country for three-week blocks, several times per year), so employment is likely to be varied and a little haphazard. We’re trying out inventive solutions, like getting me to be a statistical consultant for other postgrads, on the grounds that work like that will be less strictly structured, time-wise, than regular lab-demonstrating.

From → Scientist

One Comment
  1. Sandy Bartle permalink

    Congratulations, Shane!

    But make sure you get inoculated against sharks!

    Sandy

    _____

Leave a Reply

