Skip to content

[LBI 2012] Closing the loop

October 28, 2012

[This is the thirteenth in a series of posts – essentially diary entries – on fieldwork on Little Barrier Island, New Zealand. Internet access was unavailable on the island, so I am publishing them one-per-day now that I am back on the mainland.]

30/09/2012

I finished one round of all sampling points today – from now on all point visits will be repeats. This meant my primary run today was half of G – about two hours’ work. That done, I stopped in at the bunkhouse for morning tea, dried my boots, and spent an hour dozing at the beach before starting my secondary route, Line H. I was really very relieved to have non-squelchy boots for my afternoon.

After Route H, I read some more of Reischek, went for an ocean swim (the seaweed is mainly Ecklonia kelp) and read yet more Reischek. A quiz-night was held, the hihi team vs. the locals with the DoC ranger as quizmaster, in which we were roundly defeated.

From → Scientist

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

